Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) Registry

Created
2004-04-09
Last Updated
2014-05-12
Available Formats

XML

HTML

Plain text

Registries included below

Packet Codes

Registration Procedure(s)
Standards Action
Reference
[RFC3748]
Available Formats

CSV
Value Description Reference
1 Request [RFC3748]
2 Response [RFC3748]
3 Success [RFC3748]
4 Failure [RFC3748]
5 Initiate [RFC6696]
6 Finish [RFC6696]
7-255 Unassigned

EAP Initiate and Finish Attributes

Registration Procedure(s)
IETF Consensus
Reference
[RFC6696]
Available Formats

CSV
Type Description Payload Type Reference
0 Reserved [RFC6696]
1 keyName-NAI TLV [RFC6696]
2 rRK Lifetime TV [RFC6696]
3 rMSK Lifetime TV [RFC6696]
4 Domain name TLV [RFC6696]
5 Cryptosuite list TLV [RFC6696]
6 Authorization Indication TLV [RFC6696]
7 Sequence number TV [RFC6630]
8 ERP/AAK-Key TLV [RFC6630]
9 pRK Lifetime TLV [RFC6630]
10 pMSK Lifetime TLV [RFC6630]
11 CAP-Identifier TLV [RFC6630]
12-127 Unassigned
128 Called-Station-Id TLV [RFC6696]
129 Calling-Station-Id TLV [RFC6696]
130 NAS-Identifier TLV [RFC6696]
131 NAS-IP-Address TLV [RFC6696]
132 NAS-IPv6-Address TLV [RFC6696]
133-191 Unassigned
192-255 Reserved for Private Use [RFC6696]

Method Types

Expert(s)
Joseph Salowey
Reference
[RFC3748]
Available Formats

CSV
Range Registration Procedures Note
1-191 Designated Expert with Specification Required
192-255 Standards Action
256-4294967295 Designated Expert with Specification Required Allocated after 1-191, on the advice of a designated expert, with specification required. Expert-EAP Working Group Chair or person designated by EAP Chair
Value Description Reference
0 Reserved
1 Identity [RFC3748]
2 Notification [RFC3748]
3 Legacy Nak [RFC3748]
4 MD5-Challenge [RFC3748]
5 One-Time Password (OTP) [RFC3748]
6 Generic Token Card (GTC) [RFC3748]
7 Allocated [RFC3748]
8 Allocated [RFC3748]
9 RSA Public Key Authentication [William_Whelan]
10 DSS Unilateral [William_Nace]
11 KEA [William_Nace]
12 KEA-VALIDATE [William_Nace]
13 EAP-TLS [[Aboba]]
14 Defender Token (AXENT) [Michael_Rosselli]
15 RSA Security SecurID EAP [Magnus_Nystrom]
16 Arcot Systems EAP [Rob_Jerdonek]
17 EAP-Cisco Wireless [Stuart_Norman]
18 GSM Subscriber Identity Modules (EAP-SIM) [RFC4186]
19 SRP-SHA1 [James_Carlson]
20 Unassigned
21 EAP-TTLS [RFC5281]
22 Remote Access Service [Steven_Fields]
23 EAP-AKA Authentication [RFC4187]
24 EAP-3Com Wireless [Albert_Young]
25 PEAP [Ashwin_Palekar]
26 MS-EAP-Authentication [Ashwin_Palekar]
27 Mutual Authentication w/Key Exchange (MAKE) [Romain_Berrendonner]
28 CRYPTOCard [Stephen_M_Webb]
29 EAP-MSCHAP-V2 [Darran_Potter]
30 DynamID [Pascal_Merlin]
31 Rob EAP [Sana_Ullah]
32 Protected One-Time Password [RFC4793][Magnus_Nystrom]
33 MS-Authentication-TLV [Ashwin_Palekar]
34 SentriNET [Joe_Kelleher]
35 EAP-Actiontec Wireless [Victor_Chang]
36 Cogent Systems Biometrics Authentication EAP [John_Xiong]
37 AirFortress EAP [Richard_Hibbard]
38 EAP-HTTP Digest [Oliver_K_Tavakoli]
39 SecureSuite EAP [Matt_Clements]
40 DeviceConnect EAP [David_Pitard]
41 EAP-SPEKE [Don_Zick]
42 EAP-MOBAC [Tom_Rixom]
43 EAP-FAST [RFC4851]
44 ZoneLabs EAP (ZLXEAP) [Darrin_Bogue]
45 EAP-Link [Don_Zick]
46 EAP-PAX [T_Charles_Clancy]
47 EAP-PSK [RFC4764]
48 EAP-SAKE [RFC4763]
49 EAP-IKEv2 [RFC5106]
50 EAP-AKA' [RFC5448]
51 EAP-GPSK [RFC5433]
52 EAP-pwd [RFC5931]
53 EAP-EKE Version 1 [RFC6124]
54 EAP Method Type for PT-EAP [RFC7171]
55 TEAP [RFC7170]
56-191 Unassigned
192-253 Unassigned
254 Reserved for the Expanded Type [RFC3748]
255 Experimental [RFC3748]
256-4294967295 Unassigned

EAP-FAST TLV Types (Value 43)

Note
See http://www.iana.org/assignments/eap-fast-parameters/eap-fast-parameters.xhtml

EAP-FAST (value 43) Error-TLV (value 5) Error-Codes

Note
See http://www.iana.org/assignments/eap-fast-parameters/eap-fast-parameters.xhtml

EAP-FAST (value 43) Request-Action TLV (value 19) Action Codes

Note
See http://www.iana.org/assignments/eap-fast-parameters/eap-fast-parameters.xhtml

Message Types

Registration Procedure(s)
IETF Consensus
Reference
[RFC6696]
Available Formats

CSV
Value Description Reference
0 Reserved [RFC6696]
1 Re-auth-Start, applies to Initiate Code only [RFC6696]
2 Re-auth, applies to Initiate and Finish Codes [RFC6696]
3-191 Unassigned
192-255 Reserved for Private Use [RFC6696]

Re-authentication Cryptosuites

Registration Procedure(s)
IETF Consensus
Reference
[RFC6696]
Available Formats

CSV
Value Description Reference
0 Reserved [RFC6696]
1 HMAC-SHA256-64 [RFC6696]
2 HMAC-SHA256-128 [RFC6696]
3 HMAC-SHA256-256 [RFC6696]
4-191 Unassigned
192-255 Reserved for Private Use [RFC6696]

EAP-TTLS AVP Usage

Registration Procedure(s)
IETF Consensus
Reference
[RFC5281]
Note
The following table lists whether the AVP may appear in a
packet from server to client ("Request") and/or in a packet from
client to server ("Response"), and whether the AVP MUST be
implemented ("MI").
Available Formats

CSV
Name Request Response MI Reference
User-Name X [RFC5281]
User-Password X [RFC5281]
CHAP-Password X [RFC5281]
Reply-Message X [RFC5281]
CHAP-Challenge X [RFC5281]
EAP-Message X X X [RFC5281]
MS-CHAP-Response X [RFC5281]
MS-CHAP-Error X [RFC5281]
MS-CHAP-NT-Enc-PW X [RFC5281]
MS-CHAP-Domain X [RFC5281]
MS-CHAP-Challenge X [RFC5281]
MS-CHAP2-Response X [RFC5281]
MS-CHAP2-Success X [RFC5281]
MS-CHAP2-CPW X [RFC5281]

EAP Initiate/Re-auth-Start Flags

Registration Procedure(s)
Standards Action or IESG Approval
Reference
[RFC6630]
Available Formats

CSV
Flag Value Reference
(E) 0x80 [RFC6630]

EAP Initiate/Re-auth Flags

Registration Procedure(s)
Standards Action or IESG Approval
Reference
[RFC6630]
Available Formats

CSV
Flag Value Reference
(E) 0x10 [RFC6630]
(L) 0x20 [RFC6696]
(B) 0x40 [RFC6696]
(R) 0x80 [RFC6696]

EAP Finish/Re-auth Flags

Registration Procedure(s)
Standards Action or IESG Approval
Reference
[RFC6630]
Available Formats

CSV
Flag Value Reference
(E) 0x10 [RFC6630]
(L) 0x20 [RFC6696]
(B) 0x40 [RFC6696]
(R) 0x80 [RFC6696]

EAP Lower Layers

Registration Procedure(s)
Expert Review
Expert(s)
Joseph Salowey
Reference
[RFC6677]
Available Formats

CSV
Value Lower Layer Reference
0 Reserved [RFC6677]
1 Wired IEEE 802.1X [RFC6677]
2 IEEE 802.11 (no-pre-auth) [RFC6677]
3 IEEE 802.11 (pre-authentication) [RFC6677]
4 IEEE 802.16e [RFC6677]
5 IKEv2 [RFC6677]
6 PPP [RFC6677]
7 PANA (no pre-authentication) [RFC5191][RFC6677]
8 GSS-API [draft-ietf-abfab-gss-eap][RFC6677]
9 PANA (pre-authentication) [RFC5873][RFC6677]
10-255 Unassigned

People

ID Name Contact URI Last Updated
[Albert_Young] Albert Young mailto:albert_young&3com.com 2001-12
[Ashwin_Palekar] Ashwin Palekar mailto:ashwinp&microsoft.com 2002-04
[Darran_Potter] Darran Potter mailto:dpotter&cisco.com 2002-01
[Darrin_Bogue] Darrin Bogue mailto:dbogue&zonelabs.com 2004-02
[David_Pitard] David Pitard mailto:david_pitard&phoenix.com 2003-02
[Don_Zick] Don Zick mailto:dzick&interlinknetworks.com 2004-04
[James_Carlson] James Carlson mailto:james.d.carlson&east.sun.com 2001-02
[Joe_Kelleher] Joe Kelleher mailto:joe.kelleher&informer.co.uk 2002-04
[John_Xiong] John Xiong mailto:johnxiong&cogentsystems.com 2002-06
[Magnus_Nystrom] Magnus Nyström mailto:mnystrom&microsoft.com 2006-04-11
[Matt_Clements] Matt Clements mailto:matt&iosoftware.com 2003-02
[Michael_Rosselli] Michael Rosselli mailto:mrosselli&axent.com 1998-01
[Oliver_K_Tavakoli] Oliver K. Tavakoli mailto:radagast&funk.com 2003-02
[Pascal_Merlin] Pascal Merlin mailto:pmerlin&scrypto.fr 2002-01
[Richard_Hibbard] Richard Hibbard mailto:rhibbard&fortresstech.com 2003-02
[Rob_Jerdonek] Rob Jerdonek mailto:rob&arcot.com 2000-05
[Romain_Berrendonner] Romain Berrendonner mailto:romain.berrendonner&sagem.com 2001-12
[Sana_Ullah] Sana Ullah mailto:palash78&globalctg.net 2002-02
[Stephen_M_Webb] Stephen M. Webb mailto:stephenw&cryptocard.com 2002-01
[Steven_Fields] Steven Fields mailto:sfields&identix.com 2001-11
[Stuart_Norman] Stuart Norman mailto:snorm&cisco.com 2000-11
[T_Charles_Clancy] T. Charles Clancy mailto:clancy&cs.umd.edu 2005-06
[Tom_Rixom] Tom Rixom mailto:tom.rixom&alfa-ariss.com 2003-05
[Victor_Chang] Victor Chang mailto:vchang&actiontec.com 2002-06
[William_Nace] William Nace mailto:wanace&missi.ncsc.mil 1997-12
[William_Whelan] William Whelan mailto:bwhelan&nei.com 1997-12