Differentiated Services Field Codepoints (DSCP)

Last Updated
The DSCP field within the DS field is capable of conveying 64 distinct
codepoints.  The codepoint space is divided into three pools for the
purpose of codepoint assignment and management: a pool of 32
codepoints (Pool 1) to be assigned by Standards Action as defined in
[RFC2434], a pool of 16 codepoints (Pool 2) to be reserved for
experimental or Local Use (EXP/LU) as defined in [RFC2434], and a pool
of 16 codepoints (Pool 3) which are initially available for experimental
or local use, but which should be preferentially utilized for
standardized assignments if Pool 1 is ever exhausted.  The pools are
defined in the following table (where 'x' refers to either '0' or
Available Formats



Plain text

Registry included below

Differentiated Services Field Codepoints

Available Formats

Pool Codepoint Space Registration Procedure Note
1 xxxxx0 Standards Action
2 xxxx11 Experimental or Local Use Reserved for experimental or Local Use
3 xxxx01 Experimental or Local Use May be utilized for future Standards Action allocations as necessary

Pool 1 Codepoints

Registration Procedure(s)
Standards Action
Available Formats

Name Space Reference
CS0 000000 [RFC2474]
CS1 001000 [RFC2474]
CS2 010000 [RFC2474]
CS3 011000 [RFC2474]
CS4 100000 [RFC2474]
CS5 101000 [RFC2474]
CS6 110000 [RFC2474]
CS7 111000 [RFC2474]
AF11 001010 [RFC2597]
AF12 001100 [RFC2597]
AF13 001110 [RFC2597]
AF21 010010 [RFC2597]
AF22 010100 [RFC2597]
AF23 010110 [RFC2597]
AF31 011010 [RFC2597]
AF32 011100 [RFC2597]
AF33 011110 [RFC2597]
AF41 100010 [RFC2597]
AF42 100100 [RFC2597]
AF43 100110 [RFC2597]
EF PHB 101110 [RFC3246]
VOICE-ADMIT 101100 [RFC5865]